June 14, 2016 | Town Council Meeting Minutes

Attend a Meeting

Council Meetings

Council Meetings are held on the second Tuesday of every month at the meeting room behind St. Johns Church, 8. N. Second St. These public meetings start at 7:00 PM. The public is encouraged to attend. Please contact the Town Office at least two (2) weeks prior to a Council Meeting if you would like to get a topic on the agenda.

View Council Minutes



Planning and Zoning

Regularly scheduled Woodsboro Planning & Zoning Meetings are held on the first Monday each month at the meeting room behind St. Johns Church, 8. N. Second St. The public is welcome to attend these meetings, which start at 6:00 PM.

Woodsboro Planning & Zoning Meetings are held on the first Monday of the month as needed at 6:00 PM at the meeting room behind St. Johns Church, 8. N. Second St. Please contact the town office to be added to the agenda one (1) month prior to the meeting if you have business to discuss.  If there are no topics brought forth to be placed on the agenda 1 month before this meeting, the committee will not meet that month.

Planning & Zoning Minutes


Town Offices:

Corporation of Woodsboro
Mary E Rice | Town Clerk
Council Drive
P.O. Box 88
Woodsboro MD, 21798

Phone: (301) 898-3800

Town Council Meeting Minutes

Woodsboro, Maryland
June 14, 2016

The Woodsboro Town Council met today at 7:00 PM in the Fire Hall with the following members present:

Burgess Smith and Commissioners Rittelmeyer, Spruill, and Kellar. Absent from the meeting was Commissioner Piechowski.

There was twelve guests and nineteen residents in attendance.

Burgess Smith called the meeting to order and led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.

After review of the May 2016 minutes, a motion to accept them as presented passed 3 – 0.

After review of the May 2016 financials, a motion to accept them as presented passed 3 – 0.

The first line of business was a Public Hearing on a text amendment in the NMX (Neighborhood Mixed Use) zoning. Susan Hauver, Town Planning and Zoning Administrator, was in attendance and provided a handout of the text. After a brief discussion a motion to move forward with the text amendment as presented by Ms. Hauver passed 3 – 0.

Commissioner Rittelmeyer reported the lighting project through POS at the tennis court and the WWTP was completed.

Commissioner Spruill opened discussion on the speed bumps. He would like to see one be put back on North Second Street, but place it further north. It was decided to put it in front of 14 N. Second Street. Resident Tom Jones suggested placing a radar sign on streets alerting drivers of their speed.

Burgess Smith presented the FY17 Budget for General Fund and Water and Sewer Fund. He reported there would be no tax increase or water and sewer increase. A motion to accept the General Fund FY17 Budget passed 3 – 0. A motion at accept the Water and Sewer FY17 Budget passed 3 – 0.

Resident Ida Lee thanked the town for repairing the curb in front of 9 South Main Street and asked if letters were sent to residents who need to clean up their property. Burgess Smith informed her the letters have been sent. Ms. Lee also wanted to know when the sand bags would be removed that border along the back of her property and Adams Street. Burgess Smith informed her that he has to meet with Southern States first.

Resident David Lee asked when the sidewalk along Liberty Road and 200 South Main Street was going to get repaired. Burgess Smith will contact the contractor again. He also asked when the water tank was going to get repainted. Burgess Smith explained the contract with a company that paints the town’s tank and when they will be back in town.

Resident Tom Jones reported on the street light poles on Wood Street that need repair. He reported they are fiberglass and the paint has come off and fiberglass is showing.

Resident Jason Boyer reported on a large pothole in front of 100 Creagerstown Road that needs repaired. Mary will have the maintenance men look at it.

There being no further business, a motion to adjourn was passed 4 – 0.

Respectfully submitted,
Mary E. Rice
Corporation of Woodsboro